Closing the Gender Gap: Developing Gender Equitable STEAM Programs

Webinar Resources

Contact: Claire Ratcliffe (cratcliffe@spacescience.org) for questions

Guest Presenters:

Niki Becker

STEM Specialist, Twin Cities PBS STEM Media and Education nbecker@tpt.org

Kristin Pederson

Senior Director, Twin Cities PBS STEM Media and Education

STEM Project Development and Communications kpederson@tpt.org

Keliann LaConte

Principle Investigator, STEAM Equity project

Professional Development Manager, STAR Net/Space Science Institute klaconte@spacescience.org

SciGirls Resources:

· SciGirls Connect – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/

· SciGirls Strategies: Engaging Girls in STEM – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/scigirls-strategies-engage-girls-stem/

· Tips for Using the SciGirls Strategies – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/SciGirls-Strategies-Tips.pdf

· Latina SciGirls – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/groups/latina-scigirls/

· Engaging Latino Families Guide (English) – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/ScigirlsLatinoFamiliesEnglishFINALFROMWEB.pdf

· Engaging Latino Families Guide (Spanish) – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/ScigirlsLatinoFamiliesSpanishfinalfromWeb.pdf

· The Gender Gap in STEM: What the Research Shows – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/SciGirls-Strategies-Big-Idea.pdf

· Additional Gender Equity Resources – http://www.scigirlsconnect.org/gender-equity/

· SciGirls PBS Kids website: www.pbskids/scigirls

Activity Resources

· STEM Activity Clearinghouse – http://clearinghouse.starnetlibraries.org/

· Be Your STEAM Self Clearinghouse Collection – http://clearinghouse.starnetlibraries.org/164-be-your-steam-self

· Be a Creative Problem Solver Clearinghouse Collection – http://clearinghouse.starnetlibraries.org/165-be-a-creative-problem-solver

· Be Curious Clearinghouse Collection – http://clearinghouse.starnetlibraries.org/166-be-curious

· Girl Powered Clearinghouse Collection – http://clearinghouse.starnetlibraries.org/130-girl-powered

· Parachute Parade – http://clearinghouse.starnetlibraries.org/activities/422-parachute-parade.html

Follow the STAR Library Network

· http://www.starnetlibraries.org/

· https://www.facebook.com/STARLibraries/

· https://www.starnetlibraries.org/register/

· https://twitter.com/starnet_project

FREE STAR Net Resources!

· Culturally Responsive STEAM Programming: Engaging Latinx Communities in Rural Areas o http://www.starnetlibraries.org/event/culturally-responsive-steam-programming-engaging-latinx-communities-in-rural-areas/

· Archived and Upcoming Webinars: o http://www.starnetlibraries.org/resources/webinars/

· Partnerships Page o https://www.starnetlibraries.org/stem-in-libraries/collaboration/partnership-opportunities/

· Community Dialogues Page o http://www.starnetlibraries.org/resources/community-dialogues/

o http://www.starnetlibraries.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/10/Community-Dialogue-Guide100418.pdf

· STAR Net Blog o http://www.starnetlibraries.org/blog/

· STAR Net at Conferences o https://www.starnetlibraries.org/resources/conferences/

· STAR Net YouTube Page (Subscribe!)

· http://www.youtube.com/starnetlibraries

STEM in Libraries o https://www.starnetlibraries.org/stem-in-libraries/

Learn more about the STEAM Equity project http://www.ala.org/tools/programming/steamequity