I recently received this e-mail from Christine Shupla, with the Lunar and Planetary Institute.  I hope she doesn’t mind my forwarding her announcement.

I’ve attended some of these webinars in the past, and they are fantastic, as well as a lot of fun!  I remember one where we created the phases of the moon by taking bites out of Oreos.  At the same workshop, we created the layers of the earth with Rice Krispie Treats and other candies.  I gained pounds of knowledge… and sugar calories.  It was great!  Of course, I don’t think they actually intended for the participants to have a contest to see how many could recreate each day of the lunar cycle in cookie form….  then move on to try to make candy models of each of the planets, including Pluto and Charon.  What a tasty day that was! :-)

Sorry.  On to the  important information:

 

 

banner

FREE NASA Online Training on STEM Children and Tween Programming

Tuesday, April 5, 2016 Webinars

 

Public library staff, camp facilitators, and other out-of-school time programming staff are invited to attend one or both webinars for hands-on activities and programming ideas.  Engage children and tweens in the science and exploration of the Moon — and beyond — using NASA programming resources.  Explore! Marvel Moon activities rely on inexpensive materials and can be flexibly implemented.

Webinar 1: 1 pm Eastern / 12 pm Central / 11 am Mountain / 10 am Pacific Daylight Time

This 30 minute webinar will include a brief overview of Explore Marvel Moon, and will quickly model and describe 3 engaging hands-on activities.

Webinar 2: 2 pm Eastern / 1 pm Central / 12 pm Mountain / 11 am Pacific Daylight Time

This 90 minute webinar will include time for participants to follow along, ask questions, and share implementation thoughts as we conduct several hands-on activities, and have a short presentation and question/answer session with planetary scientist Dr. Michelle Kirchoff.

The webinars will be recorded and archived online.  Door prizes will be drawn and shipped to five participants!

Apply by Monday, April 4 at

http://cp.mcafee.com/d/avndzgArhovd7abObwV4SrhhhhovjvspdEEEEIfFK8ECPpISHWGNel9MUzkOrojsh5rCzDm1lOWezDkk1mWrO0GMUqem1kwOMg5jhOqerSKz_TZAwrdCPpIDeqR4IMFR6UCvbaRwlYJO-hMrS9DPNKJo6PqdTbCPtPqpJUTsTsSyrh

For more information, contact us at:

explore@lpi.usra.edu

For more frequent information, check out the Explore Facebook page.