Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Register for This Webinar!

 

Computational Thinking in Your Library – Unplugged!
Tuesday, August 27, 2019 at 4:00 p.m. (ET), 3:00 p.m. (CT), 2:00 p.m. (MT), 1:00 p.m. (PT)

What do you think of when you hear the term, “Computational Thinking?” It’s more than just working with computers! Computational Thinking is a mindset and a way of approaching critical thinking that can be used to solve problems across every aspect of our lives. In this modern age, it is more and more important for all community members to develop these pivotal thinking skills – that’s where libraries come in!

In our 2019-2020 STAR Net Webinar Series Kick-off, we’ll be taking a look at Computational Thinking and ways that libraries can integrate this concept into their STEM programming. On Day 1 (Tuesday, August 27th) , we’ll be taking a look at Computational Thinking concepts and low-cost, low-material activities that do not require a computer. On Day 2 (Wednesday, August 28th), we’ll be joined by Eric Stroshane, Library Development Manager for the North Dakota State Library, to discuss ways to start coding clubs and showcase digital resources for high quality activities.

These webinars will be interactive and hands-on, and we hope that you will share your experiences with Computational Thinking in the chat box. Whether you can join us for just one day or both, we hope to “see” you there!¬†Both webinars will feature a guest speaker, Tai Hutchinson, Manager of Community Partnerships & Outreach, from Girls Who Code.